Sunday, March 17, 2013

Our New Old Glory

"Old Glory" has acquired a new look - 49 stars in seven staggered rows of seven each. And on July 4, 1960, it will have 50 stars. The 49th star, of course, represents the new State of Alaska which was admitted to the Union January 3, 1959, when President Eisenhower signed an executive order setting the new design of 49 stars for the Official Flag of the United States. Now that Hawaiian statehood has been approved by Congress, Old Glory will have 50 stars, but the new design, whatever it is, will not become official until July, 1960."

A Help-Your-Self Booklet, 1959

No comments:

Post a Comment